The 2023 MTV Video Music Awards are beginning to take form. The present will air dwell from Prudential Heart in Newark, N.J., on Tuesday, Sept. 12, at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Shakira and Sean “Diddy” Combs are slated to obtain the highest honorary awards: the Video Vanguard Award and the World Icon Award, respectively. Each artists will even carry out on the present for the primary time in additional than 15 years.

Nicki Minaj is about to “emcee” and carry out on the present. Saweetie will host a 90-minute pre-show, with assists from Nessa, Dometi Pongo and Kevan Kenney. The pre-show airs dwell from 6:30 to eight p.m. ET/PT on MTV, MTV2, CMT and Emblem.

MTV additionally introduced the primary wave of presenters for the principle present. Extra presenters and performers will probably be added to this checklist as they’re introduced.

Shakira will develop into the primary South American artist to obtain the Video Vanguard Award. Girls have totally dominated this class lately. Shakira follows Rihanna (2016), P!nk (2017), Jennifer Lopez (2018), Missy Elliott (2019) and Nicki Minaj (2022). There was no recipient in 2020-21. The final man to win the award was Kanye West in 2015.

Diddy is third recipient of the World Icon Award, following Foo Fighters (2021) and Crimson Scorching Chili Peppers (2022).

Diddy isn’t the one rapper who will carry out on this yr’s VMAs. Minaj, Metro Boomin (with particular friends) and Lil Wayne are additionally on the invoice. And the present will embrace (yet one more) fiftieth anniversary salute to hip-hop.

Six of the primary 11 artists introduced as performers on this yr’s primary present are from outdoors the U.S., which dramatizes how the music scene has develop into extra international lately. Shakira and Karol G are each from Colombia; Stray Youngsters and TOMORROW X TOGETHER are each from South Korea; Anitta is from Brazil; Måneskin is from Italy.

This can be a much more worldwide forged than the inaugural VMAs in 1984, the place there have been 5 American performers (Madonna, Huey Lewis & the Information, Tina Turner, ZZ Prime and Ray Parker Jr.) and two Brits (Rod Stewart and David Bowie, the latter represented by a pre-taped efficiency from London).

American artists acting on the principle present this yr are Demi Lovato, Diddy, Doja Cat, Kelsea Ballerini and Lil Wayne. The date of the present, Sept. 12, occurs to be Ballerini’s thirtieth birthday, which reveals that the nation star is a trouper.

Taylor Swift leads the 2023 VMA nominations with 11 nods, counting three she acquired on Friday (Sept. 1) in social classes. She is adopted within the complete nominations rely by SZA (eight); BLACKPINK, Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Olivia Rodrigo (six every); Kim Petras and Sam Smith (5 every); and Beyoncé, Diddy, Drake, Ice Spice, Karol G, Metro Boomin, Shakira and TOMORROW X TOGETHER (5 every).

Bruce Gillmer and Den of Thieves co-founder Jesse Ignjatovic are government producers of the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards. Barb Bialkowski is co-executive producer. Alicia Portugal and Jackie Barba function executives in control of manufacturing. Wendy Plaut is government in control of superstar expertise. Lisa Lauricella is music expertise government.



Demi Lovato

Diddy (World Icon Award recipient)

Doja Cat

Fall Out Boy

Karol G

Kelsea Ballerini

Lil Wayne


Metro Boomin (that includes Future, A Boogie wit da Hoodie, Swae Lee & NAV)

Nicki Minaj (emcee)

Olivia Rodrigo

Peso Pluma

Shakira (Video Vanguard Award recipient)

Stray Youngsters



Bebe Rexha

Charli D’Amelio

Coco Jones

Dixie D’Amelio

Emily Ratajkowski

French Montana


Ice Spice

Jared Leto

Madelyn Cline

Rita Ora

Sabrina Carpenter

Performers: Prolonged Play Stage


Reneé Rapp

The Warning

Performers: Pre-Present

NLE Choppa

Sabrina Carpenter